Skip to main content
7 – 14 July 2024
Go to NAIDOC on Instagram

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.

National NAIDOC Committee

The National NAIDOC Committee (the Committee) is an independent, voluntary Committee comprising of ten Members of which two are elected Co-Chairs.

The Committee is entrusted with making key decisions about National NAIDOC Week events on behalf of all First Nations people. The Committee is responsible for setting the dates and theme annually for National NAIDOC Week, selecting the winner of the National NAIDOC Week Poster Competition, selecting the winners of the National NAIDOC Week Awards and selecting the focus city for future National NAIDOC Week Awards Ceremonies.

Committee Members are appointed for a term of three years following a public expression of interest process.

Steven Satour was elected Co-Chair by his fellow Committee Members in August 2022, along with Aunty (Dr) Lyn Riley.

Find out more about Committee Members by clicking on their photos below.

To get in touch with Members of the National NAIDOC Committee please fill out and submit the contact form.

...celebrate our heritage and culture in public forum
Aunty (Dr) Lynette Riley
...further expand and promote our culture and the opportunities there are to participate and appreciate...
Steven Satour
This week gives us a chance to be unapologetically Black and to stand strong in our culture and practices
Cherisse Buzzacott’s culture, heritage, family, country & mob coming together to celebrate our trailblazers
Erica Smits
It’s our week to shine, be proud and for the public to engage, learn and to share our week together
Masepah Banu
...committed to supporting and strengthening Indigenous community-controlled sectors through the self-determination of Australia's First Nations people
Naomi Moran
...desire for equal advantage for all Australians, with diversity and inclusion at the core of society
Sharon Gray

Welcome to NAIDOC.

We acknowledge all First Peoples of the beautiful lands on which we live and celebrate their enduring knowledge and connections to Country. We honour the wisdom of and pay respect to Elders past and present.