Skip to main content
7 – 14 July 2024
Go to NAIDOC on Instagram

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.

2023 National NAIDOC Week Award Finalists Announced!

2023 National NAIDOC Week Award Finalists

The National NAIDOC Committee is proud to announce this year's National NAIDOC Week Award Finalists! Selected from a pool of almost 200 nominees, these finalists exemplify the spirit of NAIDOC, which is a week-long celebration of Blak excellence across the Country. 

“The National NAIDOC Committee is very fortunate to be able to read the stories of so many of our people who are achieving remarkable results and working tirelessly to support their communities” said Co-Chair of the National NAIDOC Committee, Dr Lynette Riley. “It is an honour to be entrusted with selecting these incredible finalists”.

“National NAIDOC Week Awards seek to recognise and honour Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who really understand their community and work to create positive change” said Co-Chair Steven Satour, “Each year we receive nominations from all over the Country, from big cities to small communities, and today we pay tribute to every single one of those people”.

This year, the National NAIDOC Committee is especially honoured to announce Aunty Dr Naomi Mayers OAM as the 2023 National NAIDOC Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. Aunty Dr Naomi is a Yorta Yorta and Wiradjuri woman, leader in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health, and was an original member of the ground-breaking music group, The Sapphires. Aunty Dr Naomi has dedicated her career to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and health reform and established the Redfern Aboriginal Medical Services, a model which has since been adopted nationally in Aboriginal Health Services. Aunty Dr Naomi has been a tireless advocate of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities across the nation, working with them to build a healthier future.

Introducing our deadly finalists below, read more about their incredible work and achievements at 2023 National NAIDOC Week Award Finalists

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient
Aunty Dr Naomi Mayers OAM

Person Award Category
Professor Kelvin Kong
Murrawah Johnson
Megan Krakouer

Female Elder Award Category
Dr Aunty Bilawara Lee
Aunty Dr Matilda House-Williams
Dr Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr Baumann AM

Male Elder Award Category
Pastor Dennis Phillip Jetta OAM
Tom Slockee
William Tilmouth

Youth Award Category
Brodie Murray
Courtney Burns
Mitchell Harrison-Currie

Innovation Award Category
Dr Rhett Loban
Daniel Motlop
Passing the Message Stick

Education Award Category
Aurora Education Foundation
Bubup Wilam Aboriginal Child and Family Centre
Professor Jacinta Elston

Creative Talent Award Category
Aaron Fa'Aoso
Dr Anita Heiss
Rachel Perkins

Sportsperson Award Category
Ash Gardner
Donnell Wallam
Indi Cooper

Caring for Country and Culture Award Category
Lala Gutchen
METRONET Noongar Reference Group
Talei Elu

National NAIDOC Week Award winners will be announced at the National NAIDOC Week Award Ceremony on Saturday 1 July 2023 in Meanjin. Tickets will be on sale in early June.

We invite everyone to join us in congratulating the 2023 National NAIDOC Week Award finalists.

For Our Elders.


Welcome to NAIDOC.

We acknowledge all First Peoples of the beautiful lands on which we live and celebrate their enduring knowledge and connections to Country. We honour the wisdom of and pay respect to Elders past and present.