4 – 11 July 2021
Go to NAIDOC on Instagram


Frequently asked questions

How are winners selected?

Winners are selected by the National NAIDOC Committee following a judging process. Nominees will be shortlisted as Award Finalists, with the winner announced at the National NAIDOC Awards Ceremony. At all stages, the decision of the Committee is final and no discussion will be entered into.

How are nominations judged?

Nominations are scored based on the information provided in the nomination submission. Scoring categories take into account what information has been provided on achievements in the last 12 months. Only those nominations which are eligible (see Selection Criteria) will be considered.

Who can be nominated for an Award?

Any person who you think has made a meaningful contribution can be nominated. All people nominated for a National NAIDOC Award must be Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander, as defined by the following:

  • Be of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander descent
  • Identify as an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander
  • Be accepted as an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander by an Aboriginal and/ or Torres Strait Islander community.

If a nominee has won an Award in the past, are they able to win again?

Yes. If a nominee has previously won an Award, they can still win another Award as long as:

  • it has been 10 years or more since they won their previous Award in that category; or
  • the Award they win this year is in a different category to the previously won Award.

Can a nominee win more than one Award in the one year?

No. An individual may not win an Award in more than one category in one year. If a nominee ranks in the first position across multiple Award categories, the National NAIDOC Committee will select the most relevant category for that nominee to win the Award for.

When do nominations open and close?

Nominations for the 2021 have now closed. Submissions for the 2022 National NAIDOC Awards will open later in 2021. Subscribe to the NAIDOC eNewsletter to stay up to date with NAIDOC Awards.

Should I include supporting documentation?

Applications have the opportunity to include documentation to support their nomination. Supporting documentation can include (but is not limited to):

  • Testimonials
  • Portfolios
  • Resumes
  • Newspaper articles
  • Websites

How can I check if my nomination has been received?

Once your nomination is received, you will be sent an email thanking you for participating in the Awards. If you do not receive an email contact the NAIDOC Secretariat at: NAIDOC@niaa.gov.au

Who has received a NAIDOC Award previously?

The annual National NAIDOC Awards Ceremony recognise the outstanding contributions that Indigenous Australians make to improve the lives of Indigenous people in their communities and beyond, to promote Indigenous issues in the wider community, or the excellence they’ve shown in their chosen field.

There have been truly incredible past winners who you can find out more about here.

If you have questions regarding your submission please contact: NAIDOC@niaa.gov.au.