Youth of the Year
Youth of the Year

The Youth of the Year Award is to recognise an exceptional youth, the nominee must be a person aged 16-25 years prior to NAIDOC Week 2019. 

To nominate an individual for the Youth of the Year Award use the following selection criteria:

  1. Demonstrated excellence in the nominated category
  2. The individual’s status as an inspirational role model for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the broader Australian population
  3. Demonstrated leadership
  4. The individual’s future goals and likely impact 
  5. Demonstrated commitment to personal/vocational/career development

Past winners provide inspiration for your nomination. Like Latia Schefe who has overcome adversity to become a strong role model for others, or Elijah Douglas who is already showing great leadership at a young age. Tamina Pitt is the 2018 NAIDOC winner for this category.