Sportsperson of the Year
Sportsperson of the Year

The NAIDOC Sportsperson of the Year Award recognises accomplished Aboriginal and Torrs Strait Islander athletes or sporting leaders who have promoted or built sport in their community.

Past winners Jade North, two-time A-League championship winner and Olympian, and Jack Peris, National under-16 Australian 400m athletics champion, can provide inspiration for your nomination.

To nominate an individual for the Sportsperson of the Year Award use the following selection criteria:

  1. Demonstrated excellence in the nominated category
  2. The individual’s status as an inspirational role model for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the broader Australian population
  3. Demonstrated leadership
  4. The individual’s future goals and likely impact 
  5. Demonstrated commitment to personal/vocational/career development