Scholar of the Year
Scholar of the Year

The Scholar of the Year Award will be judged on achievement in secondary and/or tertiary study or exceptional educators who have made a difference to the life of students or communities.

To nominate an individual for the Scholar of the Year Award use the following selection criteria:

  1. Demonstrated excellence in the nominated category
  2. The individual’s status as an inspirational role model for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the broader Australian population
  3. Demonstrated leadership
  4. The individual’s future goals and likely impact 
  5. Demonstrated commitment to personal/vocational/career development

Past winners have included Dr James Charles, a lecturer in Podiatry at Charles Sturt University, or Layneisha Sgro a proud Nyiyaparli, Bardi and Jabbir Jabbir woman who achieved the highest ATAR score ever for an Indigenous student in WA. 
Be inspired by the 2018 NAIDOC Scholar of the Year Professor Michelle Trudgett who was the founding Director of the Centre for the Advancement of Indigenous Knowledges at the University of Technology in Sydney.