National NAIDOC Committee

The National NAIDOC Committee make key decisions on National NAIDOC activities including the focus city, the theme, the National NAIDOC Poster Competition winner and the National NAIDOC Awards winners.

Decisions on NAIDOC were once made by the National Aborigines’ and Islanders’ Day Observance Committee that gave the celebrations their name. Between 1997 and 2004, this role was performed by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC). With the abolition of ATSIC in March 2005, an interim committee based in the focus State, South Australia, made decisions on NAIDOC 2005.

At the 2005 National NAIDOC Ball and Awards Ceremony the interim committee presented Indigenous leader and former Senator Aden Ridgeway with a message stick as the ‘custodian’ of NAIDOC. Aden chaired the committee until 2008, when the current co-chairs Anne Martin and Ben Mitchell took on chairing responsibilities.

Today, committee members are selected based on merit through an open public nomination process as current members terms expire.

The current National NAIDOC Committee Members are: